top of page

Our Mission

To identify, expose, and explain disinformation where and when it occurs using open source research; to promote objective truth as a foundation of government for and by people; to protect democratic institutions and norms from those who would seek to undermine them in the digital engagement space.


To create a new model of expertise adapted for impact and real-world results.


To forge digital resilience at a time when humans are more interconnected than at any point in history, by building the world’s leading hub of digital forensic analysts tracking events in governance, technology, security, and where each intersect as they occur, as well as a network of #DigitalSherlocks.

Understanding Disinformation

The Atlantic Council’s Digital Forensic Research Lab (DFRLab) has operationalized the study of disinformation by exposing falsehoods and fake news, documenting human rights abuses, and building digital resilience worldwide.

Building Digital Resilience

We continually track global disinformation campaigns, fake news stories, covert military developments, and subversive attempts against democracy while teaching the public skills to identify and expose attempts to pollute the information space.

Transforming the
Digital Engagement Space

Using open source, social media, and digital forensic research DFRLab's Digital Sherlocks have conducted ground breaking investigations into war crimes committed during the siege of Aleppo and ceasefire violations in Ukraine. 

Meet Our Team

bottom of page